2008 – Robert J. Earley Sr.

Posted March 6, 2008 by admin under Irishman of the Year

    This year we honor our long-time member, past Rescue Captain, and present Fire Police Captain Robert J. Earley, Sr., a 46-year member of the Melville Fire Dept, as our Irishman of the Year.

    Bob is a retired Chief Fire Inspector for the Town of Huntington, the Senior Fire Inspector for the Melville Fire District, as well as an active member of numerous fire prevention organizations on the local, state, national, and international levels including the National Fire Protection Association, National Association of Fire Investigators, International Association of Arson Investigators, New York State Fire Service Council, New York State Fire Safety Consortium, Fire Inspectors Association of the Town of Huntington, Suffolk County Fire, Rescue and Emergency Service Commission, Suffolk County Arson Task Force, and the New York State Fire Prevention and Building Code Fire Sub-Committee. He is a past president of the Fire Inspectors Association of Suffolk County, New York State Fire Marshals and Inspectors Association, and Fire Marshals Association of North America.

    While serving as a rescue officer, Bob was an active member of the Nassau-Suffolk Rescue Association, the first fire service emergency medical training group on Long Island, and in 1971 was elected to a 2-year term as their President.

    In addition to his many firematic activities, Bob has also given time to his local community. He was a Co-Founder and Assistant Scout Master of Boy Scout Troop 189 in Melville as well as a member of the Nathan Hale District Adult Training Committee for several years.

    Bob became a member of the Knights of Columbus in 1944 and was given the honor of being made a "Life Member" of that organization and is currently active in St. Elizabeth's Parish in South Huntington, serving as Lead Usher.

    The Suffolk County Volunteer Firefighters Emerald Society feels that Robert J. Earley, Sr. has earned the honor of being named our 2008 Irishman of the Year by his unselfish dedication to the fire service and the community at large.